Socality – Join The Movement

If I recall correctly I’ve written a few times on the fact that I desire to get back to my passions.  I often feel as though I’ve lost direction when it comes to my spiritual journey, I desire to explore it yet it feels as though I’m stuck in one spot and just can’t seem to pry myself loose.

Part of this I know is my lack of church community.  When I moved to this city I started attending a church that I loved, throughout the past six years I’ve had ups and downs spiritually, and I’ve openly lived life in a way that I knew to be against what my church taught.  In my shame and self proclaimed “rebellion” I quit going to that church, sure I returned but left again.  I worked through a lot of bitterness yet some still lingered in my heart and it was killing my love for the “Kingdom Community.” Since quitting that church I haven’t found another church, and truthfully I haven’t really tried.  There’s a few reasons for that including my fear:

  • Of creating new relationships.
  • Of putting myself out there.
  • Of being completely open and honest about who I am, where I came from and where I want to go.
  • Of allowing myself to really dream again.
  • Of the possibility I might get burned – or burn someone else and that bitterness that I once knew all to well would enter into my life again.

But the truth is deep down I long for Kingdom living and Kingdom community, it is built into the very fabric of my being, it is what I have always wanted and I need to get that back.

This is why I have joined a movement called Socality.

I’m still grasping the complete purpose of it but to give you a glimpse I’ve taken an excerpt from their website:

Socality is committed to bringing the heartbeat of God to humanity. We all want to be known and loved. Traditionally, the mindset has been that you must believe, then behave in order to belong. However, Socality is bringing it all back to the basics, the central theme of Jesus. We believe that you DO belong, so you CAN choose to believe, and that change is possible. We are all about loving God and loving people (Mark 12:30-31).

Socality is a branded community within existing online networks. We are a social community all for eternity, committed to sharing the message of love, which is anchored in the truth of the gospel.

I had seen the hashtag #socality all over Instagram for a while, and I had searched and tried to figure out what it meant before it launched (it was a great way to peak interest!).  When they finally revealed what it was and what their vision was I was instantly intrigued and wanted to join, but it took me a few days to really decide to participate.  Those few days I realized what my fears were… did I really want to put myself out there? Well, yes I did, but it was risky and I wasn’t sure if I was ready to take that risk.  I couldn’t get it out of my mind for the next couple days and it was then that I decided that this was definitely worth it.

So I took my Instagram account off of private and began using the hashtag as well as started to explore other people who were using the hashtag.  I have loved it, and I have realized that this Kingdom community is so much more than just people in a building.  It’s people living their everyday lives, journeying through together, figuring out what it’s all about, and loving people in the process.  I feel part of this community, like I am a valued member and that’s what it’s all about.

On top of feeling like part of a community, I’ve started to become intentional with my photography again, it’s re-awakened my photo passion and I’m so excited to see where that takes me.  Almost accidentally it has also joined me in with another Instagram community – the “health nuts” or “foodies” or “food fanatics” whatever you want to call them I’ve joined them.  So along with re-awakening my photo passion it is also helping me build on my passion for healthy eating and healthy living.

I’m so excited about where this can take me and I’m excited about Kingdom living again.  I want to invite you to join me in this movement – regardless of what your beliefs are I’m betting you believe in love and that’s what it’s all about.  If you’d like to know more and how you can get involved go to http://www.socality.org and join their e-mail list to get more information.

Peace and Love, have a blessed day!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Socality – Join The Movement

  1. Hey Ashely!

    This is truly incredible. It is so crazy to hear your story with Socality. I love it.

    My name is Paul, I am apart of the Socality team. I would love to talk with you more about maybe posting this under community on our website. (If you haven’t yet, we just launched the brand new site). I think many people would resonate with this. We would point back to this site as a source as well! Let me know.

    Email me. paul@socality.org

    Thanks and God Bless You
    Paul

    Paul Tellefsen

  2. Adam Baird says:

    Came across #socality recently via instagram and found your post via googling. I just wanted to say I appreciated what you had to say and it resonated with me. As a Christian I’ve felt for a while that social media was mostly a distraction and self serving. But this idea and new movement has me intrigued. Although I’m still unsure if it will have any more significant impact than just furthering my thoughts about social media, I’m at least curious to see how God may use it. Take care!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 225 other followers

