Pray. Ask. Seek.

It happened again.

The faithfulness of God came through AGAIN.

I’m not surprised, yet again I’m in awe.

Since being on maternity leave I have been struggling with my employer and the government to get my payments.  It was 10 1/2 longs weeks of waiting, and counting pennies trying to get things paid as well as feed myself and my family.  Yesterday my payments officially started and I am officially financially stable once again.  If it hadn’t come in yesterday I would have been in a world of trouble – so once again, God’s timing is perfect.

As I was reflecting on this this morning the ever popular verse on worry came to mind:

25 “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? 26 Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 27 Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life[a]?

28 “And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. 29 Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. 30 If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you—you of little faith? 31 So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32 For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. 33 But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. 34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

 Matthew 6:25-34

When I was pregnant there were quite a few things I was worried about (besides the obvious having a safe pregnancy and healthy baby and momma).  The things I was worried about might seem silly to some and maybe even pointless, but they were really important to me, and I can say that every one of those worries and fears were met by God’s faithfulness.  Here’s the list:

  • Getting “fat” – I knew that I was going to grow a belly but I really did not want to gain weight ALL OVER.  Time and time again people commented that I barely looked pregnant from behind and that my stomach was a perfect round ball.  I did gain more than I wanted but was happy with the distribution of the weight.
  • Staying “fat” – I really didn’t want to be that woman who kept those 20 extra pounds on until the next pregnancy.  I’m happy to say I am 5 pounds away from my pre-pregnancy weight which happens to be my lightest weight since high school.  Also my body seemed to go back to the way it was before – meaning the weight is distributed as it was before I was pregnant.  Nothing to complain about here!
  • Swelling up like Violet from Charlie and the Chocolate Factory – I had exactly 2 days of swelling when we were moving houses and I was on my feet for more than 12 hrs a day and not drinking water.  I had some swelling after the fact but it too only lasted a couple days.
  • Not being able to work my entire pregnancy – Fact: I worked up until 4 days before little E was born (although he was 4 weeks early)
  • Being on bedrest for half of my pregnancy – again, this didn’t even come close to happening.
  • The spinal for my surgery – BIGGEST FEAR and for nothing.  I literally felt NOTHING when they inserted that giant needle into my spinal canal.
  • Slow and painful recovery – I cleaned my entire house less than two weeks after having him (maybe not the smartest idea but it was very possible).
  • A cranky fussy baby – Baby E has only just recently started to want to be awake and have trouble sleeping.  For 9.5 weeks he ate and slept.
  • A ginormous baby – I really didn’t want a ten pound monstrous baby, if I would have gone to term I think he would have been that big.  Being born 4 weeks early he was very large, but I got to bring home my 6 lb 8 ounce baby (dream come true!).
  • Not being able to breastfeed – Despite not eating for the first 2 days and not even attempting breastfeeding until day 5 1/2 due to being in the NICU baby E was a champ and my milk came in in abundance.

These are just a few of my little (and some not so little) worries I had and things I had prayed for during my pregnancy and honestly everyone of those prayers were answered.  Besides giving us this miracle boy (he really is our miracle – I may elaborate that later) he also answered what seems like petty desires (seriously, when you’re having a baby via c-section who cares how big it is, and every baby cries, and every woman gains some weight).  I am reminded today that God not only cares about our needs, but He also deeply cares about our desires. I could literally go on for pages and pages and pages about every little part of my life (and big parts) where God has proven He is with me and cares about every single part of me.  Sometimes I’m tempted to do just that, and maybe one day I’ll start a paper journal that can be handed down through the generations, but I’ll stop here for today.

Today I am challenged to pray, to ask, to seek.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Pray. Ask. Seek.

  1. Hi Ashley! My name is Cameron and I had a quick question about this post and was wondering if you could email me. Thank you so much. I greatly appreciate your time and response. :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 225 other followers

