Home Decor

I’m finding that being at home full time has done the opposite of motivate me to get things done.

When I’m busy I’m more motivated to finish projects, but when I have seemingly endless amounts of time (in between feedings and play time of course!) I get overwhelmed with what I have to do.

I have a list of projects I’d like to get done before I have to go back to work, but I haven’t really started any of them.

My home is one of the projects, mainly getting the decor started – I’m not putting a timeline on this because I know it’s going to take time to get things the way I really want it.  Even though I don’t have a timeline I also haven’t really started anything of consequence because just thinking about it overwhelms me.  I have a couple ideas but nothing concrete but I want to start dreaming and making those decor dreams reality slowly and on a budget.  To help me with that I thought I’d start blogging about it and keep everyone up to date with my progress, as well as get some input!

Here are the areas I really want to get started:

EntranceThis is our entrance.  It’s a great big area that could really set the stage for the whole house.  It’s one of the most commonly commented on areas of the house and I want it to be inviting and warm.  I already have a bit of an idea of what I want to do, it includes an antique pedal sewing machine that was my great grandfathers, a wing back chair, a rug, and a mirror.  The main problem is that terrible blue accent wall.  Before I can do anything on the main floor I need to get that painted, I just don’t know what color.

DSC_0002 DSC_0003 DSC_0004This is our living room on the main floor.  This is the area we use the most and I really love it.  It has great big windows to let a tonne of light in during the day (it’s fabulous for photo shoots) and a fireplace to keep warm at night.  Friends of mine threw me a baby shower and left me a bunch of the decorations including the four vases with branches, and a friend and her husband made those coasters from a tree (they are amazing!).  I fell in love with this decor and I feel like it really goes with the white furniture. I also think that the entrance way will tie into the natural elements in the living room due to the sewing machine being wood.  The issue in this room is that I need to expand the decor and I really need to figure out what to do about the fireplace, and what do I put on the walls?? I’m at a loss at this point.

DSC_0006 DSC_0007This is Baby E’s room.  I bought all the furniture second hand and painted the crib and change table.  A friend of mine painted the African tree with the elephants (I’m still in love with that wall).  I have a canvas I’m working on with a verse on it that will be set in the middle of a large ornate frame.  You can see I have some blue frames sitting on the shelf – I have some quotes I want to print out to hang on that wall.  I also want to incorporate some more photography in his room.  I’ve been thinking maybe changing the light fixture? This room has a good start but I feel like it came to a stand still when I got overwhelmed (and when Baby E came sooner than expected!).

DSC_0010 DSC_0009 DSC_0008Finally, the last room I feel like I REALLY need to get a good start on before I go back to work is our office/craft room which has now turned into our guest room as well due to renting out our basement rooms.  I feel like I had a good idea of what I wanted this room to be but now that we need it to function as a guest room I’m at a loss.  I really want it to be functional in all its uses, but is that even possible?

So that where I am with my home.  I’m going to start really brainstorming and creating idea/motivation boards to get me started and I’ll post progress here!

If you have any ideas or inspirations please let me know!

Love and Peace.

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Home Decor

  1. Hello – wow, you don’t do things in halves!! I know exactly what its like being at home with a baby – my boy (now 7!!) also came early and robbed me of cake eating time!! I think your entrance hall could look amazing. Adding a chair and mirror will make it more of a useable room, which is far more welcoming than a through way. Its the first impression people get of your home after all. I have to admit I’m a fan of neutral/natural colours and then having accent features – like mirrors or upholstered furniture/rustic pieces to soften a look and add warmth. Maybe paint the blue a Hessian colour? Lighting is important too, a statement piece could really finish the look.

    • ALB says:

      Thank you for your input!! I never thought about changing the light fixture in the entrance way, my interest is definitely piqued and I will definitely be on the search for a perfect fixture!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 225 other followers

